Rhode Island Felony DUI Attorney
In the state of Rhode Island, a third conviction of drunk driving within a 10-year period is considered a felony offense. This means that the penalties increase dramatically. If you have been accused of felony DWI, you could be facing steep fines, serious damage to your personal and professional reputation, limits on your freedoms, and even jail time.
Fortunately, dedicated Rhode Island felony DUI attorney Matthew Marin may be able to help you protect yourself from such losses. For the aggressive and experienced legal representation you need, call our offices today at 401-287-4384.
Penalties for Felony DUI
Rhode Island law takes multiple DWI convictions very seriously. If you are convicted of felony DWI with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 to .15, you could face:
- A $400 fine
- 1 – 3 years in jail
- Driver’s license suspension for 2 – 3 years
- Mandatory alcohol treatment
- A mandatory ignition interlock device in your vehicle for up to 2 years
If you are convicted of felony DUI with a BAC over .15, you may face penalties such as:
- A fine of $1,000 – $5,000
- 3 – 5 years in jail
- Driver’s license suspension for up to 3 years
- The seizure and sale of your vehicle by the state
The consequences of a felony DUI conviction can affect you for the rest of your life. Do not take chances with your liberty or finances. If you have been accused of a third or higher DWI offense, talk to a knowledgeable Rhode Island felony DUI defense attorney today.
Rhode Island felony DWI defense lawyer Matthew Marin provides thorough and committed legal representation to each of our clients. To discuss how our law firm can help you protect your rights, contact us today at 401-287-4384.