Newport DUI Attorney
Matthew Marin, a Newport DUI defense attorney, supplies aggressive and effectual representation to individuals who are facing charges of DUI as well as all related offenses. Mr. Marin has successfully defended roughly 500 clients who were facing DUI and other criminal offenses since entering into private practice.
The key to DUI defense success is early intervention. Anyone who has been charged with a DUI or related offenses needs a Newport DUI attorney who knows all of the Rhode Island criminal laws relating to matters of drunk driving. On a daily basis, Newport DUI attorney Matthew Marin aggressively protects clients’ rights and freedoms in both criminal and DUI cases. He is always available at 401-287-4384 to discuss a case.
Rhode Island DUI Overview
Due to the state of Rhode Island’s recent “crack down” on drunk driving offenders, the state’s DUI laws are among the harshest in the nation. An individual without proper representation from Newport DUI lawyer Matthew Marin is in danger of paying significant penalties include the loss of a license, thousands of dollars in fines, a criminal conviction on their record, higher insurance premiums, and jail time.
As a consequence of Rhode Island’s recent “crack down” on drunk driving, the DUI laws for the state of Rhode Island have become some of the least lenient in the country. A first time DUI offender is at risk for substantial penalties which include the loss of a license, thousands of dollars in fines, a criminal conviction, higher insurance premiums, and even jail time. With proper representation, such as that provided by Newport DUI attorney Matthew Marin, the risks can be lessened.
Driving under the influence is one of the most common charges handed out by the criminal justice system. The refusal to take a chemical test following a Newport DUI arrest comes with its own penalties which include the loss of a license for 6 to 12 months, fines, and community service. DUI education classes and other measures are also possible.
Fortunately, the majority of DUI charges are misdemeanors. A person’s third DUI conviction within 5 years is a felony. In addition, Rhode Island’s laws allow for enhanced punishments if the person charges had a blood or breath alcohol level of .15 or higher.