Suspended License Violation
Anyone who relies on an automobile to get around knows that losing the ability to drive can make life much more difficult. Many of us rely on cars even for running small errands, such as going to the grocery store or laundromat just a few blocks down the road. Being stripped of your driving privileges can severely limit your mobility. Many drunk drivers learn this lesson the hard way when they have their license suspended under a DUI conviction.
If you have been convicted of a DUI and have had your license suspended, you may see this as an unreasonable penalty that adds significant hardship to your life. You may be limited to riding the bus or walking where you need to go, or perhaps you have found someone to carpool with to work. While it may seem easier to just get in the car and drive, getting caught driving on a suspended license can result in severe penalties beyond those you already face for your DUI.
In Rhode Island, a suspended license violation tacks on a number of additional penalties, including further license suspension, fines, and jail time. Your first license suspension violation may result in a 3 month addition to your suspended license, a $500 fine, and at least 10 days in jail. Additional violations result in even more severe penalties that could land you in jail for over a year.
If you have been arrested for driving with a suspended license, consider consulting with a DUI defense lawyer immediately to discuss your options. He or she may be able to negotiate an alternative punishment so that you can regain your driving privileges. Contact experienced Rhode Island DUI lawyer Matthew Marin today at 401-287-4384 for the legal assistance you need.