Rhode Island DUI Conviction Laws
Each state has a different set of laws pertaining to DUI convictions. Punishment varies between fines, jail time, and duration of license suspension. The state of Rhode Island has particularly stiff penalties in place for individuals convicted of multiple DUIs.
If you or someone you know has been accused of driving while under the influence, you need the representation of an experienced DUI attorney. Contact Rhode Island DUI defense lawyer Matthew Marin today by calling 401-287-4384 to schedule a free initial consultation.
DUI Conviction Laws
Your first Rhode Island DUI conviction entails up to 1 year in jail and/or community service for 10-60 hours, in addition to fines that vary depending on your BAC (blood alcohol content):
- Up to .08 BAC: $100-$300
- Up to .15 BAC: $100-$400
- Above .15 BAC: $500
- Mandatory $500 Highway Safety Assessment fee
Similarly, duration of license suspension varies depending on BAC:
- Up to .08: suspension from 1-3 months
- Up to .15: suspension from 3-12 months
- Above .15: suspension from 3-18 months
All persons convicted of DUI must also attend a special course on driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Subsequent DUI convictions within a 5 year period of your last conviction results in much stiffer penalties, including increased fines, mandatory jail time, and prolonged license suspension.
If you have been charged with driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, having an experienced attorney on your side can help protect your legal rights. Contact Rhode Island DUI lawyer Matthew Marin at 401-287-4384 to discuss the facts of your case.