Possible First DUI Offense Penalties
If you have been charged with a DUI, you may feel very frightened and uncertain about the future. DUI charges are very serious and can affect your record for years to come. In, fact you can receive a felony for DUI’s. The state of Rhode Island has very tough DUI laws, which can be intimidating if this is your first time being charged. Possible consequences of a conviction may include more expensive insurance premiums, stiff fines, or even jail time.
Fortunately, being charged with a crime does not have to result in a conviction. Skilled and experienced Rhode Island DWI attorney, Matthew Marin, has successfully defended more than 500 clients who were convicted of DUI or DWI. To speak with him directly about your case, contact his office at 401-287-4384 as soon as possible. Do not hesitate to get the legal help you need to see you through this process.
If you were issued a DUI in the state of Rhode Island and you have never been convicted before, the penalties are not as severe as second or third convictions. However, if you have been unfairly given a DUI, any penalty at all feels unjustified. Possible first offense penalties include:
- A fine of $100 to $300
- License suspension for up to 6 months
- Community service
- Compulsory completion of a $500 Highway Safety Assessment course
These penalties are expensive and can be very time consuming. This is why it is so important to contact a knowledgeable attorney who knows the law well.
If you or a loved one is facing criminal DUI charges and needs dedicated and aggressive legal representation, contact Rhode Island DUI defense attorney, Matthew Marin, at 401-287-4384 today.