Multiple DUI Offenses
If you have received a second or third DUI, the charges you face are even more serious than those for a prior offense. You risk facing greater fines, longer jail sentences, and reduced freedoms.
Penalties for a Second or Third DUI Offense
If you have received a DUI in Rhode Island in the past, you may be facing the following charges:
Second Offense: If you have been arrested on DUI charges less than 5 years after your first offense, you face the following penalties:
- Incarceration for at least 10 days and up to 1 year. Your driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 1 year and as long as 2 years, and you may have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for 1 to 2 years. Additionally, you face a $400 fine and may be enrolled in a treatment program.
- A third DUI received within 5 years is a serious charge that constitutes a felony for which you must spend at least one year in jail. You will face a license suspension of 2-3 years, a $400 fine, and mandatory enrollment in a treatment program. You may also be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for 2 years, or your vehicle may be confiscated.
What to Do If You’ve Received Multiple DUIs
Multiple DUI offenses mean more severe penalties and a greater range of possible actions. Because the length of jail time and license suspension can vary greatly, it is important to hire an experienced DUI defense attorney to advise you as soon as possible and help you with your case.
If you or someone you know has been arrested for a second or third DUI offense, you need an experienced attorney to defend your case. Contact Rhode Island DUI lawyer Matthew Marin today at 401-287-4384.