A suspended license is a great inconvenience, especially if you rely on your vehicle to go to work or school and are the primary transportation provider for your loved ones. If convicted of a DWI or DUI, not only are you facing fines up to $5,000, but your transportation options have been severely limited.
You could have your license suspended for violations committed while driving or even for breaking the laws of states other than Rhode Island. Keep in mind that the state of Rhode Island does not implement the points system whereby a driver accumulates points on his or her driver’s license as a result of each violation committed.
Major Reasons for License Suspension
Some of the most common reasons for the suspension of a driver’s license include the following:
- Habitual offenses, that is, more than 3 major offenses within 3 years.
- No proof of valid vehicle insurance.
- Driving on a path only for bikes.
- Obviously eluding a police car.
- Illegal substance possession in your car.
- Deemed psychologically or physically unfit to drive.
- Driving without a license.
If your license has been suspended, it is your right to ask for a court hearing if you desire to contest your license suspension. You might also be able to take a Driver Improvement Program to bypass a license suspension.
If you have reached the end of your period of suspension, the Operator Control Division of Rhode Island has the power to reinstate you license. If they rule that you may drive again, you will have to perform the following steps:
- Go to the DMV office.
- Provide the notice of reinstatement.
- Provide your Social Security card, an ID, and evidence of address.
- Pay the fee of $75.
If you or someone you know has had their license suspended, contact Rhode Island DUI defense attorney Matthew Marin at 401-287-4384 to discuss your case and possible legal action.