Consequences of a Third Breathalyzer Refusal in Three Years
Because Rhode Island is a state that has implied consent, any driver who is pulled over under suspicion of drunk driving must comply with a police officer’s order to take a breathalyzer test. Refusing to do so can result in a number of burdensome consequences. For multiple refusals within a certain time period, a person may face several more serious penalties that can drastically affect their life. In fact, once a driver has been charged with a third breathalyzer refusal within a three year time period, they will likely face many serious consequences.
However, there are many factors in play when you are pulled over and asked to take a breathalyzer test. Rhode Island DUI defense attorney Matthew Marin understands this and, as such, works tirelessly for you to try to get you the best outcome possible, whether it’s reducing your penalties or having them dismissed entirely. Call 401-287-4384 today to find out how he can help you.
For a third breathalyzer refusal in three years, a person has the possibility of being penalized in the following ways:
- $800 – $1,000 fine
- Suspension of license for 2 – 5 years
- Drug and/or alcohol treatment
- Maximum of one year imprisonment
- 100 hours of community service
- Highway Safety Assessment and $500 associated fee
- $200 fee to pay for state’s chemical testing
These consequences can have serious ramifications on your life, which is why you need a qualified DUI defense lawyer supporting you.
Rhode Island DUI defense lawyer Matthew Marin believes that everyone has the right to a quality defense and fair trial. When you have been charged with a 3rd breathalyzer refusal and are facing the potentially serious consequences, contact him at 401-287-4384.