Consequences of a Breathalyzer Refusal
In Rhode Island, if you refuse to take a breathalyzer test when pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving you can be charged with “breathalyzer refusal.” Many people are not aware that there is an option to refuse a breathalyzer test.
The offenses for refusing a breathalyzer test become increasingly severe with each additional time the action is taken, but for many people, facing a possible criminal charge is much worse. To find out more about breathalyzer refusal, contact experienced Rhode Island DUI defense attorney Matthew Marin at 401-287-4384 today.
The Consequences of Breathalyzer Refusal
If you are charged with first offense breathalyzer test refusal, you may face:
- $200-$500 in fines
- Community service for 10-60 hours
- Suspended license six months to one year
- A Highway Safety Assessment and possible enrollment in a driving school and/or alcohol treatment program
- Paying a $200 fee to support the department of health’s chemical testing programs
If you are charged with a third offense breathalyzer refusal within five years, you may face:
- $800-$1,000 in fines
- Suspended license for 1-2 years
- 60-100 hours of community service
- Mandatory alcohol or drug treatment
- A Highway Safety Assessment
- A $200 fee to support the department of health’s chemical testing program
The best way to figure out your options after refusing a breathalyzer is to contact an experienced DUI defense attorney.
To find out more about breathalyzer refusal, contact Rhode Island DUI defense attorney Matthew Marin at 401-287-4384 today.